Thread: tire psi

mtbr member
    Mar 2004

tire psi

i am new to the sport of biking and i was just wondering if some one could tell me what they run there psi's at on there tires

Domestic Fowl
    Quote Originally Posted by kilelr313
    i am new to the sport of biking and i was just wondering if some one could tell me what they run there psi's at on there tires
    There's a few items to consider when determining tire pressure. First is the rider's weight, second is the type of terrain, and third is riding style.

Basically, you'll need a bit more pressure if you're a heavier rider, you're riding rough, rocky terrain, or if you tend to ride mre aggressively. If your tire pressure is too low, you will tend to get more pinch flats. Pinch flats occur when you hit something hard and the innertube gets pinched between the rim and the hard object. Lower pressure tends to stick a little better to the trail, however. If your tire pressure is too high, your bike will feel kind of squirrely on hard packed surfaces covered with bit of loose dirt.

Another thing to consider is whethe you have a hardtail, or full suspension bike. You can get away with a little lower pressure with a FS bike without pinch flatting because the rear suspension soakes up some of the bump.

I weigh about 165lbs. I ride a hardtail and I usually ride pretty rocky terrain and I'm a pretty aggressive rider. I usually run about 37psi. My grilfriend weighs about 106, isn't quite as aggressive and also rides a hard tail. She runs about 27 psi.

In general, for off road try to run the lowest pressure you can where you're not feeling your rims bump on rocks and you wheels don't feel sloppy. If you're riding on pavement, go ahead and pump them up hard to lower rollign resistance.

Old man on a bike

It somewhat depends on your tire size and type, too

so just a number thrown out there might not help you...what tire are you using?
    "...the people get the government they deserve..."
    suum quique