1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Tire gauge, saddle and light help needed.

Not sure where to start here. I'm a relative newbie riding a Rocky Mountain 29er hardtail. Let me know if this should be broken down into several threads:

I've got presta valves on my bike and at the moment I use an adapter that screws onto the valve which allows me to use a regular tire gauge and air chuck to air the tires up. What is a good tire gauge that will read the presta without having to use an adapter? And is there an air chuck available that will air them up without the adapter also?

I went for an hour ride tonight and it left me with a sore butt and sore/numb hands. I'm thinking the saddle might not be right but I have been reading a few other threads and will try the advice there before asking for further help. I am however thinking of getting some Ergon GP1 or GP2 grips as it seems they will take some weight off the wrists and may help with the hand problems.

My ride was all at night and I currently have an ebay led lamp with the switch on the back of the light assembly. While this works having the light switch accessible without taking my hands off the bars would be nice; are there lights like this available?