1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Super Noob

mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Super Noob

Hello everyone, Im brand new to this sport. The only mountain biking I have ever done was when I was 16, I took a costco bike up into the Reseda Mounains (LA/Santa Monica). I broke that bicycle. But man was it fun.

Anyway, I just purchased an ATLAS SPORT from Ibex bikes. Now, I was hoping I could get some advice/knowledge from you guys about equipment. Because I know nothing.

Whats dampening?

Whats lock out?

Does the sport have a good fork (Mantou Relic Elite)

Does it have a good shock (Manitou Metel R)

Did I make a good purchase/should I upgrade this bike at all?

From what I understand, the frame and other components are very good on this bike, but I could not find very much info on its suspension system.

First real mountain bike, any info is appreciated. (even for questions i didnt ask. so feel free : )

Thanks

mtbr member