1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Steep Hills

mtbr member
    Mar 2006

Steep Hills

Over the last few months I have been riding alot. This is my first year mountain biking and I am becoming a some what respectable begginner level rider. I have one flaw. I am scared of going down steep hills. I always get off and walk at least half way down them. Is there any techniques for getting over this?.

I ride clipless also so this adds to the anxiety. Should I change back to my flats to practice?

Student
    i think that u should go back to flats while trying steep hills because its easier to bail. once you get comfotable with steep hills than put the clipless pedals back on. its probably just bad news to try steep hills as a beginer with clipiless. Also while oing down the hill keep ur wieght back so u dont go @55 over end. i hoep this helps abit and relives u from ur anxiety
    [SIZE="3"]The secret to mountain biking is pretty simple. The slower you go the more likely it is you'll crash. ~Julie Furtado[/SIZE]

mtbr member

Strikes fear in your heart?