1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2013

Specialized saddle angle adjust?

Hello every1 I'm new to biking, bought my 1st real bike this summer. Specialized 2013 Camber 29, I love it! Only one problem, I cant use the specialized saddle. I'm 5'4" w/ a 29in inseam. As of now I've been using a Schwinn Pillow Top cruiser saddle. I would use the Specialized saddle, but it is too long. Schwinn saddle is 8.5in long and the specialized is 11in. So if I fall forward I rack myself up. I think I found the angle adjust, but it only goes down about 5 degrees or so, not allowing me to really dip the nose. So my question is, does a cruiser saddle on a trail bike hinder my technique?

mtbr member
    It's personal preference, but I'm inclined to believe that lowering the front too much hurts technique.

mtbr member

Re: Specialized saddle angle adjust?

The problem, IMHO, with the cruiser saddle is it doesn't allow you to scoot forward and back (especially back) as well as a "real" MTB saddle. You need to be able to shift your weight back for descents, and forward for climbs - the steeper and more technical, the more you move. That is why the original saddle had a much longer nose and likely was narrower at its widest point.