1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2007

some rear derailleur adjustment problem ....

hey guys,

so i am new to fixing my bike and i thought i ought to try myself. i followed this video to try to re-align the derailleur. (http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=xkGBajG4TPc). (long story short, i bought a used bike that was shipped over in parts, i managed to put everything together, but not everything is working in its rightly fashion..)

okay back to derailleur. as I released the tension, the chain dropped down to the smallest sprocket which is 'right' according to the video. i then played around with the shifter for a bit now i found out that i can no longer re-screw the cable anymore! it is a bit shorter! and i can't pull it over to put the screw on.

do u guys know what i mean? i dunno what to do now.....

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Pull on the cable and shift the shifter in the direction that lengthens the cable.

Then, start at the beginning with Park Tool's rear derailleur adjustment instructions.

don't thread on me
    What's the brand and model of the D-Rail?
    sign here ________________________

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    sram x9

mtbr member
    Feb 2008