1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

Single tracks condition question

I'm pretty new to the single track riding so this question my be valid or it may just be I'm not a good enough rider yet. I went ride at a park local to me. the Single tracks were made be locals and are as best I can tell unmaintained. My question is I got on some trails where the vast majority of the track were exposed roots(the trail was more root than dirt). to me this was unrideable for the most part and I figure even if I was an advanced rider it wouldn't be much fun to ride on anyway.

by my description is this a) an advanced(more the me at least trail) or b) an eroded trail that needs either major repair or to be closed to stop errosion?

PS: any spelling errors. I already know my spelling sucks sorry

Hi!!!
    Where do you ride? Have you checked into the regional forums for where you live and posed this question? It could be a number of things....the rooty trail was intentional, erosion, neglect, yadda yadda yadda. Alot of riders love to ride more technical trails like what you just described.
    Idaho Biking Yahoo! Group
    Support these shops: www.CustomMtnCycles.com & Reed's Cycle

Bike to the Bone...
    Hi Resnick