1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Single Speed Vs. Traditional

So I'm new to the sport obviously, and I have noticed on a lot of newer bikes, especially the 29ers, they are using a single speed crank system, what are the benefits if I'm freeriding Vs. the traditional gear shifting?

Hardbooter
    Here's your homework.

http://sheldonbrown.com/singlespeed.html

Everything you ever wanted to know, and then some.

Or, for the second best answer, because they're just so much fun!

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    if you're free riding... go with a geared bike. dont think a 29er is best for free riding either... what bike are you currently riding?

Hardbooter
    Linga, I don't think he meant actually freeriding, I think moreso piddling around on the trails at your own pace..But I could be wrong..

Although, DH/FR with an SS would be nice, less stuff to break, no scarred chainstays..climbing with the spongy suspension would be hard, but that's what hardtail FR is for

mtbr member
    Jun 2008