mtbr member
    Mar 2014

New question here. Shoulder/deltoids sore/ache: Is it normal?

I just started riding bike and new to mountain biking. Went to the local bike shop, did the fitting and got a mountain bike (giant talon 27.5). During trial for 10-15 minutes, the bike was fine. But after 2-3 hrs of riding in a beginners trail (really enjoyed, 7 miles!!), my shoulders/neck/deltoids are sore/aching. Is this normal? And its just that my shoulder are getting used to riding and would go away after a while.

Has anyone gone through the same?

Appreciate any info on this.

Resident Gear Head
    Yep, totally normal Your shoulders and body in general will get stronger and used to riding.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
    2 Hands Working Do More Than 1000 Hands Praying

Fat-tired Roadie
    Normal-ish. Tell us about the fitting.

I have a cyclocross bike I sometimes use for 'cross racing, sometimes use for messing around on trails, and sometimes set up for pavement only. The big change, for me, is handlebar height.

Though whenever you push your limits, something is going to give.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Being a noob myself, I can tell you that it could be fitness, but you will be surprised how quickly (if you ride enough) the body starts doing better. I only get out once or twice a week and I've improved my fitness quite a bit. Each ride seems easier, my last accomplishment was 6miles w/out resting, and no more pain.
    2016 SC Heckler R build
    2014 All City Macho Man Disc
    Nashbar 29er (Rigid)

Giggity!

mtbr member
    May 2008
    7 miles in 2-3 hours? that seems extremely slow going,