1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

Should I keep this frame?

Hey all, I'm new to the scene, been riding for about a year now. I bought a Jamis Dakar (04) last season on eBay to take to Egypt with me while I was deployed. A couple months ago I noticed a small hairline crack on the headtube (thats the place where the fork gets mounted right?) about 1-2 cm. I had planned to upgrade the bike when I came home. My question is, are cracks like these repairable? I bought the bike on eBay, so any warranty claims are out of the question. Could it be welded shut? Or should I just cut my losses and get a good setup from an authorized dealer and start from there? Thanks for your advice.

mtbr member
    dont ride it in that condition, it'll just get worse, and eventually will break.

i dont think its repairable too, so you're best bet is to get a new frame

mtbr member
    May 2005
    If you liked the frame get a hold of Jamis, they might cut you a discount on a replacement.

ride hard take risks
    Yup Jeep_Nut has the right idea, call Jamis & explain the problem & where it happended just like you did here. They are awsome people & i'm shure they will do something to help you.

http://www.jamisbikes.com/contact/index.html

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    Thanks for your help guys.