1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Shifting

mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Shifting

Ok, I am a real noob. I have never had a bike with gears before and I just picked up a used Trek 820 so I can begin to learn.

I have riden paved trails 4 or 5 times now and I can't seem to get the hang of shifting. I know the basic concept that the left shifter controls the front gears with 1 being the easiest and 3 being the hardest, and that the right shifter controls the back gears for "fine tuning."

What I can't seem to figure out is what it should feel like when I am climbing a hill. I am usually in 2 on the left and 3 on the right for flat sections. Should I be shifting higher or lower for the incline that is too steep to stay in this gear? I feel like if I go lower I am peddling like a madman and not going anywhere but if I shift higher I have trouble powering up the hill. Can anyone give me the basics on what climbing should feel like (besides of course the burning legs

Thanks for helping out a real noob.

Hi There!
    It depends on how steep the climb, but for me personally i use the middle chainring on the front almost exclusively and then switch gears on the rear as needed.
    NTFTC

EDR

Re: Shifting