1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2013

Serious noob here; please guide me on first bike!

So I've been trying to learn and lurking here a bit but I want to try and see if I can jump on any holiday sales AND I'm very excited to start riding before the amazing weather here just turns to plain hot.

~180 lbs about 5 ft 10 in male looking for his first "real bike" in the $450 $550 range. Probably 70% riding will be done on pavement but the rest would be on gravel/dirt roads. Nothing extreme, but I don't want to be stuck just to city roads. Riding for fun and fitness so I don't really need to carry anything more then what can fit in a back pack or something (snacks/food, water, camera, etc for longer rides)

I probably will purchase from a bike shop, unless I can get it shipped basically completely built/aligned (I saw something on giantnerd.com which offered a build option like that) BUT I would like specific reccomandations from you guys so I can then learn about them online and use the manufactures sites to find retailers.