mtbr member
    May 2016

Cool-blue Rhythm Searching Craigslist

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to mountain biking. I actually have only gone to the trails once with a rental but I had a great time. Seeing as the trail was literally a 5 minute (or less) commute by car from my house, I figure I would go pretty often.

Of course I'm still testing out the waters of the sport and don't want to break the bank just yet.

I've found a few craigslist postings with decent prices (I assume) and wanted to get some feedback. Feel free to recommend me other options but I am honestly not trying to spend more than $250 on a bike. I have no knowledge about biking brands and parts so I really need your help.

Listings:
    Iron Horse
    Mongoose
    Specialized
    Cannondale

P.S. I am 5'8-5'9ish and my pants length is 31-32, hope that kind of helps.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    The Iron horse looks too big for someone your size,the Goose is a cheap department store bike that wouldn't last riding off road ,the Specialized is older and would need at least the tires changed to trail ride ,the Cdale is old and fixing the of repairing the headshock could be a problem,plus it might be too big. You will most likely be on a medium or small frame ,some where around 15 ,17 inches.

mtbr member
    May 2016
    Thanks man appreciate the response, I'll cancel out all of them except the Specialized. Any other issues you can see from the Specialized?
    I'll also try looking into other listings :-)

oh Lucky me
    FWIW, if that Iron Horse fits you, that would be my choice over the rest for exactly the reasons rangeriderdave mentioned. I've got an iron horse warrior full suspension and while the company is out of business, i.e. no factory support, its a great bike. Built like a tank. I would go setup a meeting and go ride that around, to see if it fits you. The only thing you will need to do on it is ditch the road tires.
    ...Dying is the easy part, its living that's the challenge...