1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2012

Scott Aspect Sport vs Cannondale Trail SL2?

Hey everyone,

I'm a beginner looking to get back into mountain biking. When I was a kid I owned a decent MTB, but without suspension. I've been looking into getting a hardtail bike and I was hoping for some advice on choosing between two bikes:

2012 Scott Aspect Sport 29er
    versus
    2011 Cannondale Trail SL 29er 2

I think the Cannondale has slightly nicer components, though they are very similar between both bikes. The Cannondale has Shimano Deore shifters, Scott has Alivio shifters, they have the same derailleurs front and rear, similar gearing (I think--hard to tell for a newbie), maybe technically the same Shimano hydraulic brakes (again, hard to tell...BR-M446 versus BR-M445?)...

One of the biggest differences is in the suspension. The Scott has a Suntour XCR, 100mm travel; the Cannondale has a RST Deuce 29 Air, 80mm travel. I've looked around online but I can't really tell which one is technically and practically better. I've mostly gotten that both are fairly basic and lots of people seem to prefer upgrading anyway.