1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

School me on drivetrain upgrades

First off I am very new to bicycles and am trying to learn what I can to be self-sufficient to maintain and upgrade my bike as necessary.

The first big question I have is what does upgrading to higher end derailleurs give you? Is it smoothness/build quality? I currently have a 3x8 setup and cant remember if I have ever used the larger of the 3 gears. So a 2x10 setup sounds much better for me. But what benefit would I get by switching to lets say and shimano XT setup from my current other than only having the gears I would use? I have a 13 Hardrock Sport Disc 29 Specialized Bicycle Components

The other thing that confused me is that I have an 8 Speed but yet my rear derailleur is a 9 speed. Does this mean I can throw in a 9 speed cassette and shifter and after adjusting have a 9speed rear?

Is there any issues with upgrading the front derailleur system and then the rear at a later time?

As you can see I have just enough knowledge to get myself in trouble and not enough to understand everything thoroughly enough. Thanks in advance for any help.

I like pie.