mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Saddle positioned incorrectly?

I just started riding and didn't notice this as much at first. However, last night, I took a pretty extensive trip offroad on some local singletrack and loved it. When I finished, though, I found that my crotch was very numb. Totally new meaning to the term numbnutts.

I'm assuming this isn't normal, because if people's balls went numb when they rode, they'd either find a way to stop it, or quit riding. Is it possibly the positioning of my saddle, or am I riding incorrectly? I had biking liners on underneath my shorts, and they padded very well. No complaints there. I know I'm probably going to catch hell in this post, but really need suggestions on what might be causing it.

Stokeless Asshat
    You wont catch hell from us. The saddle should be positioned so that you sits bones take most of the pressure. Pretty simple actually. Google Cycling-penal numbness. You're not alone.
    Zip ties? Not on my bike!

Want:
    650B rims or wheel set. 80's vintage 32 or 36 x 135mm

R.I.P. DogFriend
    It could be one thing, or it could be a combination of things, and to be honest, there is always going to be the possibility of some discomfort. It will take a bit of time for your posterior to get used to a bike saddle, and some saddles will never be OK for you.

Everyone experiences some discomfort when starting out.

It takes longer for some than others to get used to it.

Saddle comfort is a personal thing. What works for some may not work for others..

Saddle adjustment may take a while to find what works for you, but there are some guidelines for a starting point. After that, you'll have to make small incremental adjustments to get it dialed for you. A quarter inch can make a significant difference sometimes.

Numbness in other extremeties can sometimes be traced to poor saddle adjustment.

Beginning riders often prefer wider saddles until they get used to riding longer distances.