1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Rockhopper Upgrade Help

I recently started riding on trails with a 2007 Specialized Rockhopper Pro Disc that I got from my father because he just bought a Stumpjumper FSR. I really like riding on trails or anything off road and I want to upgrade my bike a little bit. The only thing I did to it so far is replace the pedals with Shimano Saint pedals. What should I upgrade on it? Open to any ideas...

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    What does it feel like needs upgrading to you?? If it is working fine for what you are using it for, then just enjoy it. If it doesn't shift right, adjust the cables, if it still doesn't start on the drivetrain. If it breaks spokes and the wheel wobbles, get a new wheelset. If not? Leave them. My 09' RH Pro has one rim that I replaced, with an older Sun rim that hasn't had a broken spoke in NINE (9) years.. The Juicy 3 back brake finally got "broken in" after a couple years of sucking, and besides the occasional death screech works pretty well. I have that bike down to less than 24.5 lbs somehow.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    What do you like/dislike about it now? What do other people ride / How much of a budget do you have?What do you want to do different? For the most bang to buck is to upgrade the the wheels.

mtbr member