1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

New question here. riding technique question, how to take a small ditch

riding technique question, how to take a small ditch-imag0033.jpg

Hey, I started riding this summer and after having conquered my first drops and staircases, I feel silly not being able to ride over small ditches. I have included a picture of one I always have trouble with, it's the entrance to some of my local trails.

My front wheel goes in, my front suspension compresses and usually I just bounce back, my wheel stays put in the bottom of the ditch instead of rolling up. I've tried putting my weight back but that just unbalanced me even more. In general I don't know how to tackle parts of trails that have obstacles like this, I have done some nasty spills already because of this.

Any tips?

Merendon Junkie
    Try doing pedal burst before your front wheel touches the bottom of the ditch.

try anything on a bike
    Sep 2008

riding technique question, how to take a small ditch

Wheelie over it!

mtbr member
    Sep 2012