1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Dec 2013

riding in the snow

i am not a beginner but i never mtbed in the snow i was wondering if any of you have any riding in the snow tip for my and those beginners out there
    Come on stand up to go over that log

turtles make me hot
    I've found it much easier to ride a 29er in the snow than a 26er, unless you're small and light.
    On a regular mtb, 3-4 inches is about the limit. Get tires with big, open tread so they dont pack up with snow... Then you'll have zero traction.
    Don't make any sudden stops or changes in direction. The key to snow riding is smooth.
    It's actually one of my favorite things to do. When the snow is right, it offers good traction. Night rides in snow are awesome.
    I like turtles

Fat-tired Roadie
    Just do it. It's awesome. Wear water proof footwear.

For me, it's a cross between riding mud and riding sand. A lot of the time. It has some unique behaviors too.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

My little friends
    It can be great fun, as stated, or a real pain if the snow is wrong. A crusty snow can force you to pedal downhill as well as uphill!

local trails rider
    All snow is not created equal, or all trails through snow.