mtbr member
    Jul 2015

Ride a free bike or buy one?

Hey guys (and gals),

I am just getting into mountain biking and wanted to get some opinions on how to start. My neighbor gave me his 2005 Schwinn Aluminum Comp mountain bike. It's a 21 speed, SR Suntour M2000 front fork, Shimano tourney derailleurs, and 26 inch wheels. It's ride-able as is but it needs a tune up, new rear cassette, probably a new chain, and new pedals. I'm trying to decide if it's worth putting money into it or buying a new or used bike. I'm thinking if I can put around 100 bucks into the Schwinn it would at least get me riding and buy me some time to figure out what kind of bike I want/need. On the other hand if fixing up the free bike is going to cost ~$200 I'd rather put that into a used bike that's in better condition or a new bike.

There's lots of easy/intermediate trails around my house and the type of riding I plan on doing is 1/3 intermediate trails, 1/3 cruising around with friends/neighbors on pavement/dirt roads and 1/3 pulling my 2 year old daughter in a trailer. Hopefully in the future I will get into more difficult trails but for now it wont be anything too crazy.

What do you guys think? Ride the free bike? Search for a used bike in better condition? Or go to the LBS and look new? My budget right now is around 200-300 but if it's something I enjoy I will be willing to spend 600ish in a few months.

Thanks so much in advance!

mtbr member
    May 2009
    My suggestion would be to only replace what's necessary, watch some youtube videos to get practice on maintaining a bike, and save cash for a new/used bike later on when you can spend a little more. Unless the chain is rusted like crazy or bent/twisted, it's probably fine to ride around on. Same with the pedals, unless they're broken or need to be replaced, I would just ride them as is.

mtbr member
    Jul 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by owensjs View Post