1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Rear Derailleur - Short/Medium/Long Cages - Please explain

I'm new to the MTB world and would really appreciate an explanation. Could someone please explain to me what determines if I need a Short, Medium, or Long Cage rear derailleur? I'm guessing (and probably wrong haha) that the determining factor is if I'm running a 1x or 2x or 3x up front OR simply what my largest gear / my smallest gear is up front???? Please help explain!

Thanks,
    Blake

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    Also, when going to sell my current rear derailleur, what can I measure to determine if I have a short, medium, or long cage?

mtbr member
    If I was on a computer instead of my phone I'd include a link. In the drivetrain forum I believe there's a sticky regarding how to calculate.
    The length between the jockey wheels is what that refers to. A derailleur can only take up a predetermined amount of slack in your chain. If you shift to granny ring the derailleur has to be able to take up the slack in your chain in order to keep it tight enough to engage the teeth and drive the bike.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    When to use a Long Cage vs Short Cage Derailleur?