1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Rear Derailleur ??

I'm new to MTBs and broke my rear derailleur on my 9 speed bike. It was an XTR M972 Shadow Carbon Fiber derailleur. It appears to have been a long cage one (not sure though). I was wondering if I can replace it with a medium cage derailleur of the same type ?????

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    It depends on the cassette,they are designed to handle a number of teeth. The long cage can take up to around 36 teeth ,go to the shimano site it will tell you how many teeth the med. cage can handle.

mtbr member

Re: Rear Derailleur ??

You need to calculate capacity. Subtract your smallest cog number from largest cog number, then subtract smallest chainring from largest. Add the two numbers together and derailleur capacity needs to be same or larger. Ex: 34-11=23, 44-22=22, 23+22=45 minimum capacity.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

mtbr member

Re: Rear Derailleur ??

Med cage xtr has 35t capacity.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    When to use a Long Cage vs Short Cage Derailleur?

If you are truly running 9 speed - 1X9 then a short cage will work.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012