1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Questions about getting started

Ive been riding motocross for about 6 years and am wanting to get a mtb to help with my training and to mix things up a bit. The problem is i dont know where to really start, so many frame sizes and brands of bikes...im looking for something fairly cheap but also pretty sturdy.
    Would be great if I could get some tips/pointers as to where to start.

Im 5' 7", 145 lbs...plan on doing lots of jumping, trails, freeriding, and maybe some downhill and even street riding.
    Do i need a small or medium sized bike for my size? or any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated! thx in advance for any ideas!

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    To begin, welcome. I came to the sport just like you back in the late 1990s. Additionally, I'm an inch taller but about the same weight so I can speak on your frame size question.

For me mediums from most brands see mto be a perfect fit. Of course I mention the phrase "most brands" because you'll find that some company's definition of small, medium, and large varies greatly. The best thing to do is get the measurment (in inches) of the top tube; which is often considered the general measurment of the bike's size. 17 inches fits me quite well.