1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

New question here. question reguarding raceface bash guard. probably a dumb question but hopefully not

Alright so i have been riding for about 2 months now. pretty new to the sport. one of my first purchases was a raceface bash guard. i took off the stupid 3rd ring that i never used and put the guard on. i noticed that the guard protects the sprocket pretty well...however, it doesnt protect the chain. the chain sticks out about 5mm more than the bash guard therefore leaving it vulnerable to getting beat on by rocks that i fail to clear. my bike shop was the one that recommended it and installed it and they assured me it was fine but i notice that most peoples bash guards protect their chain so i need some reassurance before i drop a few bucks and replace it.

mtbr member
    The bash guard should indeed cover/protect the chain as well.

What is the size of the biggest ring you have left on your crankset?

Raceface currently makes 3 different sizes of bash guards - 32T, 36T and 40T - meaning it will protect a ring/chain up to and including that size. I am wondering if you have a 34(or even a 36) tooth chainring, but they installed the bashguard for a 32?

Total Goober
    Sep 2009