mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Question on price of bike

Trying to find a used bike and was considering a 2010 GF Marlin disc. The following has been added to it: Avid BB-7 disc brakes, Manitou fork. Seller is asking 700. It appears to be in very good condition. Since I'm new to MBs, I don't really know how much I should pay for something like this.
    Thanks for any help!!

mtbr member
    Didn't that bike cost about that new?? Nice that it has some upgrades, but in general, I don't pay much more than 50% or so of original list for a used bike. Used is a great way to buy a bike, but keep in mind, any number of things could be wrong/could go wrong, there's no warranty... that's why it should be a sh*tload cheaper than a new bike from a bike shop.

Max I'd go on that bike would be around $450 if pristine. I think it was $850 new. Maybe I'd go $500 with the upgrades, but do you know who did the work? Professional?

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    That's a very good point. I thought it might be a bit high, but the manitou fork is supposed to be pretty new and it appeared to cost a little bit. I need to see what they are new and maybe make and offer that way. I'm also not sure who has worked on the bike. I've read a lot here and I think I might go new, but am just trying to take advantage of a deal if someone finds something they don't exactly like or would like an upgrade. Thanks for the help!

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    If the retail cost if $850, then the most I would pay is $500-600 max depending on the condition. Generally there is not too much that can go bad on a mtb, just make sure to check for dents or cracks at the welds. Make sure nothing squeaks and the shock/fork works correctly. Check the stanchion for any scratches or scarring. And make sure the wheels are trued.

If the frame was carbon, then it would be a different story since it is harder to detect hairline cracks.

Oh, and it shouldn't really matter who did the work if the installation was done correctly.