1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2006

Question: Brakes

I am new to riding on a regular basis and currently own a Specialized Hardrock sport (no disc). IF I could do it again, I would like to have purchased the Comp Disc version. However, I can not turn back the clock. My question is simple: Would it be in my best interest to upgrade both front and rear brake systems. Should I purchase a wheel set or just change out the hubs. I am trying to cut costs but still have a decent setup.

Ive looked into the Avid BB7. I have considered upgrading only the rear but fear that might be a bad choice as well.

I ride 3 times a week, mostly single tracks. Typical ride is 8-15miles.

Specialized Hardrock Sport 06.

Fat, but working on it...
    Most of your braking force comes from the front wheel, so if you are going to upgrade just one end, make it the front. Check with some of the online shops like Performance. They always have deals on disc wheelsets...

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I would say that unless you are riding in wet muddy condition the V brakes will work fine. If you still don't like the feel try different pads, such as Kool Stop MTB's. Hope that helps some.

mtbr member
    May 2006