1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Nov 2014

Preporation for a climb

I am a noob with a tech riding question, I am making a decent and at what part should I start getting my gear lined up for the climb, these are very short hills and what seems to be occurring is as I start the climb I am in too tall of a gear and would like to be lower without any over-pedal/ over spin? That being said I never pay attention to "what gear I am in" ( by number) just looking for the feel of what I can use to make the climb comfortably and without tipping over

Signed, "I hate eating dirt"

Fat-tired Roadie
    A decent what?

Does your front shifting work well? I don't usually shift in advance unless there's an obstacle or something to really mess with my inertia. I can dump a bunch of gear pretty fast by shifting my front derailleur.

I've also made an effort to widen my power band some. I like having a multi-speed drivetrain, but if I'm just going to shift back up right away, often I get out of the saddle instead.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    A few revolutions of 'over-pedal' isn't really a bad thing. low stress on the drivetrain allows for quick, smooth shifts and good chain/cog longevity.