mtbr member
    Aug 2011

Please help find a crankset for me.

I'm very new to the sport, but I'm going in face first, high speed. Unfortunately, I'm breaking things faster than I can learn. I just bought a 2010 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc. I'm finding out that it's made of tinfoil, or I'm just really bad at riding. It's seen quite a few miles of rough terrain. I've already had to replace a broken derailluer bracket at 4 months.
    This time....the chain started skipping on me. I took it to the LBS to have it looked at. The guy said I bent the rear deraileur, the chain links were seazed, and I bent the middle crank sprocket. I walked out $50 poorer with a new chain, new X4 deraileur, and he said he rebent the middle sprocket.
    Tried it out last night and it's still doing it. It's also doing it in all 3 front gears, so it can't just be the middle one bent.

All I know is that I have a 7-speed, but not enough knowledge to chose a crankset. Will a new crankset be the fix to my problem? If so, can you recommend one for me that will last more than 8 months?

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Sounds like your derailleur hanger is bent....
    2009 Access 9.5 29er
    2010 Diamondback Insight RS (700c hybrid)
    Velorazzo frame build (26)

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by hardwarz View Post
    Sounds like your derailleur hanger is bent....
    Shouldn't he have checked that when replacing the derailleur? I've had it replaced before after the first 4 months, so I guess it's "that time". I'm wondering if I should find another store for a second opinion?

I do ALL my own car work because of things like this.

Probably drunk right now
    Quote Originally Posted by TXDesertRacer View Post
    Shouldn't he have checked that when replacing the derailleur? I've had it replaced before after the first 4 months, so I guess it's "that time". I'm wondering if I should find another store for a second opinion?