Jul 2011

Percentage of time in the saddle?

Since I'm a newbie, just curious... On the road bike out on the pavement I spend 99% of the time sitting on the saddle, but I've noticed that on the trails on my hardtail, I'm hardly ever sitting on the saddle. Am I doing it wrong?

mtbr member
    Also a beginner here, but it sounds like you're doing it right. I'm lazy* and sit a lot even off road; I get told to sit less.

* How lazy? My favorite sports are swimming (done lying down) and biking (done sitting).

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    in mountain biking you need to be able to move the bike around under you a lot and your legs are part of the suspension system. when your sitting its impossible to do both well

T.W.O.
    When you are climbing you should be sitting to conserve energy. The saddle is also a great place to rest in some smooth section on the descend. The rest of the time I'm usually off the saddle, hovering just above it even on my FS.

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    Depends on the trail, but I'm out of the saddle any time things aren't smooth. Some trails that's most of the time. As Mimi said, hovering is better when possible as it doesn't take as much energy. For instance, if there's a 1 inch root in the trail I'll lift my butt 1 inch off the saddle. Bike kicks up 1 inch exactly and I sit back down. I reserve the attack position for the more technical stuff or long sections of uneven trail.

You may find it's hard on your legs to be out of the saddle so much, especially if you continue to pedal as you should through some sections. But that goes away over time and your full suspension buddies will be jealous of your powerful legs.

Fat-tired Roadie