1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Pedals

mtbr member
    Dec 2013

Pedals

I am new to mountain biking and I am just wondering is there rider weight limit on pedals. I know this sounds stupid just wondering I see that crankbrothers pedals all look close to the same but the price seems to go up with the number. Can someone tell me why.

mtbr member

Pedals

One reason is different materials, weight differences, etc. I have the 'lower quality' 50/50 pedals and I love them, for what it's worth.

mtbr member
    If you dig further for the specs, most manufacturers do have maximum weights listed. I use Time pedals and I know they do. In general, the lighter weight models using exotic materials (titanium, etc) will be more expensive, but at the same time, will usually have a lower maximum rider weight rating.

mtbr member
    If you want lightweight pedals at a low price, try the Wellgo MG-1

In the UK they only cost about 30 and are very good for the money. The bearings are good and they look OK, plus the pins are replaceable. And they weigh under 400g.

They are not as good as the pedals I replaced them with, but these cost 70 so you'd not expect them to be.

mtbr member
    Dec 2013
    Thanks guys for the response.

mtbr member