1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Parkpre 925 frame

I'm new to the mtb scene and have this old Parkpre 925 frame thats been in my garage for years and I'd like to put together. My question is, are parts to get this running easy to come by and how much do you think it will take to get it going.
    Attached Images Attached Images

not your average bear
    May 2005
    Personally, I wouldnt bother. I dont work for a bike shop, but a new hardtail for someone getting back in can be had for 5 to 8 hundred.
    The frame doesnt look in great shape and the fork is super dated.
    Youll enjoy yourself much better with a bike that doesnt need tons on work.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Well I heard this frame is a good frame and I really don't want to just toss it, isn't it a good frame to start with for a beginner or will it be a money pit.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Plus I'd be looking for used parts to put it back together..

not your average bear
    May 2005
    If you're really set on this frame, find out the bottom bracket width, seat tube inside and outside diameter, rear dropout inside space (probably 135mm) and get busy. Most parts should fit, you'll probably need rim brakes in lieu of discs. Other than that stick with 7 or 8 speed drive train. Good luck

mtbr member