1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Opinions Trek 3900 or Giant Revel 1

I'm a newbie haven't really rode a bike in years and I'm getting the itch to start riding again, I'm not gonna be a hardcore trail rider but if I decide I wanna hop on a trail I want a bike that's fit for it entry level around 500$. So I found 2 possibilities and the bikes are the Trek 3900 and Giant Revel 1 so I thought I would ask the opinions of the professionals on the board. I'd appreciate any info I can get and thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    ride both and see which one fits better they are similarly specd so ride them both or check this site out for side by side [URL="http://mountain-bikes.findthebest.com/compare/21-61/Trek-3900-Disc-Mountain-Bike-vs-Giant-Revel-1-W-Mountain-Bike"]

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I'm a newbie also, but I picked up the Giant Revel 1 about two months ago and I love it. Compared to everything else in the 500 dollar price range the Revel is a good choice IMO

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I'd go with the giant. While the fork is still not very good, it is 'up' from the one on the trek. As are the rest of the parts in general. Just make sure it is a good fit, or you won't end up riding it at all.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011