mtbr member
    Jun 2004

Opinions on Giant Rainier

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am a total newbie to the sport and had a two part question regarding the rainier. 1) Is the Rainier a good bike despite the lower end shock 2)Should I get the Giant Rainier for $600 or pay more for a XTC2. I imagine i can get the xtc2 for about 900 out the door.

I have read the reviews and peoples comment and in general it seems that people think the rainier is a good bike. The one that i am looking at is the 2004 that comes with the judy sl u turn. I read the reviews for the judys and they dont seem very good. Will i be able to notice the difference between different forks since i am a total beginner. I plan on riding easy trails for now since i am totally out of shape.The bike is intended to get me back in shape plus its something i alwasys wanted to try.

Thanks

phat giant

Good job!

Well I don't have much experience with the XTC2 although I've read good reviews about it.. But I have the 04 Rainier and I love it.. it's a good quality bike and can really take a beating. The components are good for stock, although I replaced the clipless pedals for some Truvativ flats. The brakes are excellent.. that was one of the main selling points for me... good o'l Avid mechanicals.. no messy hydraulic fluid changes, with great stopping power. Yes, the only thing that really bothers me is the fork.. I'll be upgrading that next year, but for now it's fine.. it works... And from what your saying about the kind of trails your starting out on, the fork should be sufficient. In the end, it's a good quality bike for a good price. I plan on having mine for a long time, even when I go FS (full suspention)
    Good luck..!!
    You could also check out the Giant forum at the bottom of the main forum site page for more opinions.
    cheers..!!
    b_r

I like Monkeys
    Quote Originally Posted by abmw