1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

OK to spray my bike down?

I am an newb for about three months now and I have noticed quite a bit of dirt buliding up on some of my components. I wipe my bike down, especially the forks, clean my cogs and chain with a brush, and apply Pedros Ice stuff (whatever its called, to lazy to go to the garage) after every ride. But I am really tempted to take the hose to my bike, would it be ok if I sprayed it gently then wiped it down? Please dont tell my that I spent $800 on a bike and its not waterproof!

Ancient Winged Rider
    Yes, and you can use dish soap to wash it. Just dry it off and re-lube. Keep it clean and your bike will last longer and be less likely to break down on the trail....

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    dont spray directly on to any bearings or parts that seem sensative. light mist should do. you still gotta scrub it. re lube and make sure it is completely dry before you lube.

local trails rider
    Just don't point pressurized water at any bearings and such.

...idios...
    You may find the Basic Cleaning and Maintenance Guide useful.

What luck for rulers, that men do not think - Adolf Hitler

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Revivalll