Thread: Numb Hands

mtbr member
    Sep 2014

Numb Hands

I'm new to mountain biking and after about 4 miles my left hand will start to go numb. Any ideas on adjustments I can make to relieve this?

Fat-tired Roadie
    Bars higher. Bars lower. Bars closer. Bars further. Different angle for your controls.

It can take a little experimentation. Start with what seems intuitive, then try something else if you don't get anywhere.

You'll have to readjust your headset if you move your stem. There's a step-by-step procedure on parktool.com.

Good luck!
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    You could simply be gripping too hard. Try to loosen your grip and relax a little bit.

mtbr member
    maybe you need to do some preliminary stretching first before going on a ride. And also just try to enjoy while riding don't pressure yourself to go further relax while riding.

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    Grips with wrist support can help a lot too

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    What WNCGoater says. A light grip on the handlebars, and don't fight the shaking when you go over roots and stuff.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    There's so many factors that can lead to discomfort but for me i found that if I'm reaching too far I get that. Bringing the handlebars in with a shorter stem helps, and a wider bar helps too. Depends on your body and current setup though.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by DennisF View Post
    What WNCGoater says. A light grip on the handlebars, and don't fight the shaking when you go over roots and stuff.
    I suggest that because as a new mtbr it happens to me.