mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Norco charger 9.3 Vs Scott aspect 940

Hello

I am still new to mountain bike and do not understand specs just yet. I was in the market for a trek x caliber 2014, but the LBS are out of last year models. I am looking for a bike similar to the specs of an x caliber 9 2014 or close to it.

I rode both of these and they both felt really great. The Scott felt sportier, like I was on a lighter frame. But the specs weren't as good as the charger. But I'm not sure if i the frame is Lighter or not.

I might consider getting a Scott scale or a charger 9.1 if I can squeeze a little bit more out of my budget.

I am wondering what you guys feel is the more superior bike between these two series.

And what do you feel about these two bike brands. I haven't really paid attention to them.

mtbr member
    Feb 2015
    Brakes and drivetrain look to be the same. While the forks are different they are both mediocre ones. Might be okay if you weigh 150-180. But with the Suntour fork you can use their upgrade program and get a Raidon fork for $200. I'd suggest buying whichever one you feel rides better.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    Is the charger 9.1 similar to the x caliber 9?
    Is Norco and Scott a good brand?

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Scott make 29 hardtails with good handling geo in the Scale line. 438mm chainstays. The Aspect has a heavier frame and long 450mm chainstays. I wouldn't buy that bike- it won't be quick in the turns.
    Trek's Superfly line has slightly better handling geo than a Scale because of the 51mm offset fork and other minor geo differences.
    These are all aluminum frame bikes, so they become tiring when you get to the point of riding a lot over bumpy terrain.
    Riders think they need a full sus bike then but the Superfly 9.6 carbon has compliance for comfort engineered into the frame. The oem XR1 Expert tires are too skinny, they kill the compliance and need to be swapped for the Team versions.