1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Noobie commuter.

Hello All.

I have been commuting by bike for about 2 months now. I have a cheap Walmart bike (Genesis 29er) (it was all I could afford at the time, and I needed it now.) In the past two months I have had to get the bottom bracket replaced (which messed up the back wheel enough to need to be replaced as well.) So I have spend almost the cost of the bike in repairs alone at this point.

I'm a big guy, I'm 6'2 and 300 pounds (yep, I'm a fatty) I ride on bike/walking trails. I live in Seattle, so it will be raining a lot here in a few months.

I need a tank of a bike. I need something that will last me a long time with just basic upkeep and repairs. I ride 60+ miles a week. I would like it to be a 29er, which is what I have now...

I have heard good things about Giant and Trek bikes. And one of my coworkers has a Diamondback that he abuses, and even after a car crash it's still going strong. So I'm kind of leaning toward that brand.

My budget is 600. I am going to try to wait a few more months to see about getting an older model bike for cheaper. ***** has a sell right now on Diamondback bikes. They even have a 29er Response.