1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2013

(noob) Thoughs on my bike

Hello all my name is Tyler im 24 and currently live in the awesome Pacific NW Bellingham, WA which has trails every where. Galbraith Mt is only ten miles from my house. However I am a noob to the MTB world and don't know much about but bikes. But I am here to learn and love riding so far. I just bought a 05 diamondback Topanga comp on craigslist for 250 the bike is in very good condition (couldn't upload pics says the image is to big not to computer smart either). But anyway I just wanted to introduce my self and get some comments and thoughts on the bike

mtbr member
    Welcome to the addiction! Mountain biking is an awesome hobby and a great way to stay in shape. I don't know much about that bike as I am pretty new to the hobby but have fun and ride it till the wheels fall off. Then put them back on and do it over.

Fat-tired Roadie
    Galbraith is a great place to ride.

Looking at bikepedia, looks like you got yourself a cookie-cutter aluminum hardtail. Not that that's a bad thing - you should be able to ride pretty much every trail up there, although it will have a somewhat lower speed limit than a lot of the rigs you'll see other people riding.

Really big tires and a lot of hours of riding will take you a long way.