1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2012

Noob needing a sub $700 29er MTB

Hello. I was hoping to get some advice from those that know a lot more about bikes than me. I've been riding a Trek 4300 for a few years now and want to upgrade to a 29er. I have enjoyed my Trek but my wife wants to go riding with me and I planned on giving it to her and upgrading to something that can handle a little more aggressive riding. This bike will be mainly used on trails. I found the Noob buyers guide thread, so I'll just answer the questions here. Might make it easier for y'all to help me out. Thank you for your time.

Q. What region of the country do I live in?
    A. Midwest/Oklahoma

Q. Where do I plan to ride my new bike?
    A. On trails locally. Draper is one, and there are a few that are more local to me.

Q. Are there any YouTube videos of the trails I plan to ride?
    A. draper trail bike - YouTube

Q. How much time do I plan on devoting to this hobby?
    A. 2-3 days a week

Q. What is my previous cycling experience?
    A. Mainly trails with my Trek, but I used to be into BMX stuff a LOT when I was a kid/teenager.

Q. Have I participated in other hobbies, sports or activities that may give me relevant skills?
    A. Again, I was really into BMX when I was younger.