1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2012

noob needing advice on bike's cassette upgrade

total noob here. how do i upgrade my 9-speed cassette to maybe a 10 or 11-speed? *i find myself wanting another granny gear to get through some of my tougher climbs. :/

my bike is a stock 2012 specialized camber 29er. it has a Shimano 9-speed HG20, 11-34t cassette. is it possible to add another 'sprocket' to it? if not, which ones should i be considering to buy? preferably not needing to change my shifter and chain but if that's not an option, please recommend a 'set' (cassette, shifter, chain and rear derailleur (?).

thanks in advance! *again, im a total noob so links to product or maybe complete product names would be very helpful. easier for me to google. also, i'll probably ask my lbs to install it for me.

ps. light cassette/set recommendations would be a plus as i plan to slowly upgrade (lighten) my stock bike.

admin/mods: kindly move this thread if deemed inappropriate here.

What could go wrong ...