1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Noob needing advice

Hey everyone Im new here to the site and I guess you can say Im new to mtn biking since I have been out of it for over 10 years. I currently own just a cheap Mongoose Blackcomb that I bought way back. Right now its just something to ride till I can get a different bike. Which leads me to my next questions I have no clue on where to start on looking for a new bike. And I am gonna have to buy and build the bike piece by piece and of course I am trying to build the best bike I can for the least amount of money possible. I have been looking at used frames on ebay but I have no idea what Im looking at. I am gonna be using the bike strictly for downhill and freeriding and I am not that big of a person. Im 5'5" tall with a 29" inseam and I weight around 135lbs. Which I believe that makes me needs around a 16" frame. Someone please correct me if I am wrong there. What I am looking for is some direction on what frames and parts I should be looking at. I am tryin to come in less than $500 for a used frame and from there I have no clue at what I should be looking at for the rest of the parts. Could anyone start pointing me in the right direction.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012