mtbr member
    Apr 2015

noob and I need help picking between these two bikes

Hello everyone,

I need help choosing between these two bikes at my LBS.

Bike #1-2015 FUJI Nevada 27.5" 1.5.
    Bike #2-2014 TREK Xcaliber7 29"
    the TREK is $100 more than the FUJI

A little background info on me. I used to ride a lot about 16 years. I raced XC a couple of years on a GT LTS 2000. I sold that bike along time ago and started a family. Things are a little slower now and I am a noob all over again. Technology has changed a lot and I do not know squat about todays bikes. I am not going to be racing, I am just looking to get into biking again and enjoying the trails while riding with some friends. I have ridden both of these bikes around a pretty tame single track and they both felt good but at this point with such a big time off, everything feels a little goofy.

So after all of that...What bike do you guys think is the better purchase?

Thanks for your input

mtbr member
    Apr 2015
    88 views and nobody has any input between these two bikes? Am I missing something or not asking correctly? I am itching to get one of these two bikes and start riding but I just need someone other than the bike shop workers opinion b/c they keep telling me to move up to the xcal-9 and that is just too far out of my budget right now. So please, give me your opinion between these two bikes so I can feel a little better about the purchase and get out on the trails. thanks

Fat-tired Roadie
    People post these comparisons all the time.

Truth is, it's typically a wash. And it's kind of boring to go through a couple near-identical spec lists on bikes I don't think anyone should buy anyway.