1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Noob here - 1st of many dumb questions

I have several bikes I need to re-cable. Are shifter and brake cables the same dia, same for housing.

Who are the suppliers for bike parts?

Thanks,
    D

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Different. Replace the housing and ferrules with the cables.
    REI was Novara/Jagwire lined housing with coated stainless cable and plastic ferrules. Derailleur kit 19. Brake kit 19.

mtbr member
    Both cable and housing are different diameters, remember to change the ferrules while at it. You should be able to get kits or just buy the cables and the length of housing that you need if shopping at the LBS.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    If you're doing several bikes, or are someone that plans to maintain their own bikes over time, I'd go mail order bulk stuff. $38 per bike is crazy - over $100 for just cables on three bikes? For that kind of money, you pick up enough stock to last for years and years.

These can all be found cheaper with some digging around, but just for example:

Probably more shift cable housing than most will need for the foreseeable future, $30. Shimano SP41 Derailleur Housing Black > Components > Cables and Housing > Shifter Cable and Housing | Jenson USA

10 pack shift cables, $13.