1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Noob, desperately needing (of course) Help

So I am completely New to this world, and man, there is a lot of stuff to learn. I made another post earlier, about worst wrecks of 2012, mine was on a Hayabusa (motorcycle) and 6 months later, I still am having significant brain issues...but I am doing my best to learn this world, as I am dedicated to becoming involved in it...consistently, just not very far at a time. I read the glossary terms..and I will do my best here...but please be a little forgiving..I know noobs get hazed a lot..that's cool..but some actual help would be awesome.

I have absolutely tons of questions being interested in this for about a week now lol, but I will do my best to keep them to a minimum.

First question..is Yeah..I am a beginner..and I don't have a ride yet. That is my First priority, and seeing as it is well below freezing around here (30min NW of Columbus) I am guessing there will be some anxious stores hoping to sell things...I just don't know what Thing I am looking for. This is strictly for fitness/fun/save the world from gas guzzlers/and more fun!