1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

The next level-bike advice?

Fellow bikers, maybe some words of wisdom...

I have been mtbiking for only a few years. I'm still a student so funds are tight so I bought a cheap $200 hardtail Raleigh "Mt. bike" a few years back. I'm living in south fl. now and have been riding it down here at places like Markham and Oleta and almost ALWAYS after I bike the thing is in the shop getting something tuned or fixed. I finally came to the realization that I need an upgrade instead of throwing my money away.

I'm still on a budget being in school so I can't spend more than a couple hundred but I want to get the best I can for the limited funds. I looked at the cannondale trail 7 but am not entirely sure.

I will be out of Florida eventually (and the technical/speed type of riding) and enjoy downhill the most and small jumps....any advice on a type of bike that would be worth a small investment in for a poor grad student? Thanks for the help!

Cody

Level 5 Rider!