mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Newbie here, i need some advice

Howdy,

Ok so i bought a bike off C-list last year to get to and from work and ride the local trails near my house. Its an GT Outpost, i think he worked on it and what not. Got it for 125 bucks so i didnt htink it was a bad deal.

Im having some issues with it now. It wont shift to the 3rd set of speeds (i think the term is right) and it is making a clank (best way to describe it) every so often when im pedaling.

I would like to take it into a shop to get it tuned up, but im not sure how much it would cost..

basically is it worth taking it in to get it looked at or should i be looking ito buying a new bike?

What bruise?
    There really isnít any way to guess at what the total cost will be. You donít mention what kind of shape itís in, how old etc.

If youíve been riding it for a year and this is the first issue, your $125 was a good investment. Since it sounds like a cable issue (you didnít mention a recent crash) go for the tune-up. If your not happy with the bike in general and have some extra cash a new bike could be a consideration but if youíre getting everything you want out of it now ride it until it really breaks.

Who knows, it may be a bigger issue but it doesnít sound like it.

Picture Unrelated
    You could learn how to do all the adjustments on your bike if you wanted. There's plenty of resources out there including Park Tools website, youtube, Sheldon Brown's website, and so on.

I would say take it into a shop to have it tuned up the first time because you don't know how bad shape it is in right now. They'll true the wheels, tighten everything safely, and adjust everything. From there you can learn to do maintenance yourself to keep everything running.