mtbr member
    Sep 2005

Newbie here. Bought a Giant Boulder for...

I joined this site back in 2005 when I was thinking about biking agian and then the thought left me. I had to post 2 posts just now to post a new one myself!

Anyway, I got the bug again and I bought a Giant Boulder for light trails and such but I'm having fun on some medium trails at a park.

Here's the bike for about $350: http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-US/...er/7305/44110/

Although I guess it's a trail type bike, it does good on the logs and such. Yes, I've wiped out a few times but nothing bad since I'm not flying down the trails.

Can this bike handle the medium trails (or more) and is it a good frame to add tougher stuff on it?

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Take this for what it is, the advice of a fellow newb. Having given the Boulder a pretty serious look when I started on my MTB path by buying for my 12 year old, I don't think I would do much upgrading to it, mostly because of the CroMoly frame. I think its a nice bike to try out mountain biking, personally I wouldn't be too hesitant to use it on harder trails. Don't think its gonna have epic failures, its just not going to last too long. But if you are ok with beating it up while learning to ride, then replace it when your skills advance, then I think its fine.

But as I said, fellow newb, so let's both see what the vets have to say.
    Quote Originally Posted by STT GUY View Post
    Screw the search function... you're new, ask the question(s). If anyone gets thier undies in a bunch it's thier problem.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011