1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2006

New question here. NewB question: IBEX Alpine 450 vs. Motobecane 600DS?

Hello everyone.

I'm pretty new to the MTB world, though I've ridden department store bikes since I was a kid and borrowed/rented a few intermediate XC HT bikes (Trek 4500, Cannondales). I am looking to pick up an entry level HT or FS, whichever I can get the most "bang for my buck" and have the possibility to upgrade components as I go along.

I've been doing some research and IBEX seems to make some great bikes. I especially like the Alpine 450 ($399) with the Deore RDerailleurs and Rockshox J-1 fork. Plus, it seems like everyone who owns this bike loves it (5/5 reviews on MTBR).

Alternatively, Motobecane (though now under new ownership?) seems to have some solid FS bikes, in particular the 600DS ($397) with 4" rear travel (RST shock) and RST Capa TL fork with 76mm travel as well as Tektro disc brakes.

I'd like something that can handle a wide range of terrain and usage (city commute, dirt trails, some jumping), and that is sturdy and upgradeable. Both bikes have the 7000 series aluminum frames and appear to be good buys. Any advice on which I should go with?

I am open to other suggestions also!

Thanks!! -Todd

Collector of Scars
    Feb 2006