mtbr member
    Jun 2004

new rider - which of these two bikes?

I am new to MTB. I started riding recently to get more excersize and have been using a 12 years old POS. I have been researching and have riden a few bikes in my quest to get a new, plusher more comfortable bike. I know I want full suspension for comfort. I mainly ride streets, but some local trails look mighty appealing and go on trails occassionally. I am 6'1" and weight heavy at 260lbs (riding more, I hope to lose some weight!).

I have narrowed down two choices in my price range: a 04 Jekyll 600 w/ disc brakes, and a slightly used 04 Stinky. The Jekyll is new at LBS, priced at $1500. The Stinky is $1100. I am really torn between these two bikes and they both feel good when I ride them.

Any advice on what I should do? I am concerned that most bikes aren't designed to support someone of my weight. Any comments on these two bikes, their components, or overall value?

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by seenett
    I am new to MTB. I started riding recently to get more excersize and have been using a 12 years old POS. I have been researching and have riden a few bikes in my quest to get a new, plusher more comfortable bike. I know I want full suspension for comfort. I mainly ride streets, but some local trails look mighty appealing and go on trails occassionally. I am 6'1" and weight heavy at 260lbs (riding more, I hope to lose some weight!).

I have narrowed down two choices in my price range: a 04 Jekyll 600 w/ disc brakes, and a slightly used 04 Stinky. The Jekyll is new at LBS, priced at $1500. The Stinky is $1100. I am really torn between these two bikes and they both feel good when I ride them.

Any advice on what I should do? I am concerned that most bikes aren't designed to support someone of my weight. Any comments on these two bikes, their components, or overall value?

Thanks in advance!