1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2006

New to MTB Is this ok to start?

Hey I'm new to MTB and want something for the road and light trails can anyone tell me if this would be ok. Now I know its from Zellers, but i can get it discounted for more than its selling for.

26" Rock DS 24-speed Aluminum Bike
    Price: $299.97
    Save: $400

· Front disc brakes.
    · Alloy rims.
    · Shimano™ front/rear derailleur and shifter.
    While quantities last. No rain checks.
    Was 699.97
    (Canadian Prices)

I'm not sure on how much I'll get into riding so I thought this would be good to start.

Thanks for any input.

Bike to the Bone...
    Quote Originally Posted by Seany B
    Hey I'm new to MTB and want something for the road and light trails can anyone tell me if this would be ok. Now I know its from Zellers, but i can get it discounted for more than its selling for.

26" Rock DS 24-speed Aluminum Bike
    Price: $299.97
    Save: $400

· Front disc brakes.
    · Alloy rims.
    · Shimano™ front/rear derailleur and shifter.
    While quantities last. No rain checks.
    Was 699.97
    (Canadian Prices)

I'm not sure on how much I'll get into riding so I thought this would be good to start.

Thanks for any input.
    Hi, I don't know about Zeller bikes, do you have any links?